Is a Product “Vegan” if the Producer Engages in Animal Testing?

There are no animal ingredients, but are these things okay for a vegan to eat? (Photo by Ella Olsson on Unsplash)

There are many discussions on social media on what constitutes a vegan product. Many people think that if the producer of the product engages in animal testing, the product cannot be considered as vegan and not suitable for a vegan to consume.

Some years ago, this issue came up with respect to Daiya cheese substitute. Here is an (slightly edited) essay…

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Gary L. Francione

Gary L. Francione

Gary L. Francione is Board of Governors Distinguished Professor of Law at Rutgers University and Visiting Professor of Philosophy at the University of Lincoln.